A runoff election will be held to determine the next Circuit Court Judge for Madison and Rankin counties after a majority winner failed to emerge from a four-way race Tuesday. 

Dewey Arthur and Andy Stewart of Rankin County will face off Nov. 27 after besting the other two candidates, Madison County Justice Court Judge Bruce McKinley and Dan Jones. 

The winner will replace the retiring Judge William Chapman III.

Arthur finished with 33 percent of the total vote (25,731) to Stewart’s 28 percent (22,172). McKinley finished in third with 22 percent (17,078) and Jones finished last with 17 percent (13,455). The district-wide totals mirrored the Madison County totals. 

In Madison County, Arthur finished with 33 percent of the machine votes with 11,243 votes. Stewart captured 25.32 percent of the vote with 8,521 votes. McKinley tallied 23.69 percent of the votes with 7,973. Jones nabbed 16.5 percent of the machine vote with 5,551.

Absentee and affidavit ballots are not expected to alter the results.

Other races settled Tuesday:

• The Court of Appeals District 2 race is too close to call. With 98 percent of precincts reporting, Deborah McDonald held a 49 percent vote lead over Eric Hawkins and Ceola James. In Madison County, McDonald received 48.64 percent of the machine vote, with Hawkins receiving 37.33 percent of the vote.

• Chancery Judge James Walker, Chancery Judge Robert Clark, Chancery Judge Cynthia Brewer, Circuit Judge John Emfinger, Circuit Judge Steve Ratcliff, County Judge Staci O’Neal and County Judge Ed Hannan all ran unopposed. Madison County School Board District 3 Trustee Sam Kelly and District 4 Trustee Philip Huskey also ran unopposed.