Former District 4 Supervisor Karl Banks was one of the first in line Wednesday morning to file his qualifying paperwork to run for the seat he held for more than 30 years. 

Banks, a Democrat, lost to Republican David Bishop by two votes in November 2015 in a race that lingered on until last year following a series of appeals that included a stint at the Mississippi Supreme Court. A special circuit court judge ultimately dismissed Banks’ case after nearly three years.

As of 1:30 p.m. Wednesday, 10 people had submitted qualifying paperwork to run in this year’s election. 

“They were standing at the desk at 8 o’clock this morning,” Circuit Clerk Anita Wray said of the candidates with their paperwork. 

Of the 10 who filed on Wednesday, nine were incumbents, with Banks the only challenger at this point. 

Among the other 10 were Wray, Sheriff Randy Tucker, Coroner Alex Breeland, Tax Assessor Norman Cannady, Dist. 1 Constable Mike Brown, Dist. 2 Constable Johnny Sims, Dist. 3 Constable Will Weisenberger Jr., Dist. 4 Constable Brad Harbour, Dist. 1 Justice Court Judge Marsha Weems Stacey, and Dist. 4 Justice Court Judge Bruce McKinley.

The deadline to submit qualifying paperwork is March 1.

This year’s primary is Aug. 6, with the general election slated for Nov. 5.