The Madison County Circuit Clerk’s Office will be closed Thursday and Friday for the Thanksgiving holiday, but will open on Saturday until noon for eligible voters looking to vote in Tuesday’s runoff by absentee ballot. 

Circuit Clerk Anita Wray had to change her office voicemail this week to let people know they weren’t closed, but busy helping residents vote absentee. She said they have had close to 700 so far and each day brings in more voters. 

Her office will be open on Saturday, from 8 a.m.-noon for those eligible voters still trying to vote absentee. Saturday is the deadline to vote absentee in the Nov. 27 runoff. 

There are three runoff elections on the ballot, with the headline contest between U.S. Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith and former U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Mike Espy for the senate seat vacated by U.S. Sen. Thad Cochran earlier this year. 

Hyde-Smith, a Republican, was appointed by Gov. Phil Bryant to replace Cochran last spring. Both her and Espy finished in the top two from a field of four following the Nov. 6 general election. Statewide, Hyde-Smith received 364,175 votes to Espy’s 358,538 votes. State Sen. Chris McDaniel finished in third with 143,984 votes and Toby Bartee received 12,812 votes.

In Espy’s home county of Madison County, Hyde-Smith finished with nearly 50 percent of the vote with turnout nearing that of a presidential election. Hyde-Smith received 19,569 of the roughly 40,000 machine votes cast. Espy received 16,279 votes. McDaniel received 3,419. 

Dewey Arthur and Andy Stewart of Ranking County also face off Tuesday in a runoff to be the next Circuit Judge for Madison and Rankin counties. The two emerged from a field of four as the top two candidates, with Arthur holding a five percent lead over Stewart on Nov. 6.

The winner will replace Judge William Chapman III, who is retiring after this term. 

A runoff will also be held for the Court of Appeals District 2, Position 1 race between Deborah McDonald and Eric Hawkins. McDonald nearly hit the 50-percent, plus one threshold in a field of three candidates. She won Madison County on Nov. 6 with 48.64 percent of the machine vote, with Hawkins receiving 37.33 percent of the vote.