Canton incumbents for alderman trounced, unofficial numbers show


CANTON — The Ward 4 alderman race is headed to a runoff while at least three incumbent aldermen were defeated in Democratic Party primary elections here Tuesday.

Defeated incumbents include:

• Ward 1 incumbent Rodriquez Brown who lost to challenger Colby Walker.

• Ward 2 incumbent  Fred Esco Jr. who lost to challenger Renee Truss.

• Ward 5 incumbent Tim C. Taylor, who lost to challenger John E. Brown.

All candidates in Tuesday’s municipal primaries ran as Democrats.

Mayor William Truly did not have a Democrat challenge but faces Republican Charles Chip Matthews in the June 8 general election.

City Clerk Debra Brown said her office worked Wednesday to do a final tally of all votes, including affidavit and absentee ballots to certify the results from Tuesday’s election.

Following are the complete but unofficial results.

Ward 1

Challenger Colby Walker got 133 votes or 52% of the vote to defeat incumbent Rodriquez Brown, who got 122 votes, or 47.8% of the vote.

Ward 2

Renee Truss got 112 votes to defeat incumbent Fred Esco Jr., who got 92 votes

Ward 3

Incumbent Les Penn got 164 votes to defeat challenger Angie Levy-Ware, who got 65 votes.

Ward 4

The race is headed to an April 27 runoff after challenger Markee Blount got 67 votes, or 35.6% of the 188 total votes in that race and incumbent Daphne Sims got 51 votes or 27% of the votes in the race.

Other candidates in the Ward 4 race were Jonathan Dixon, who got 40 votes and Danny T. Louis, who got 28 votes.

Ward 5

John E. Brown, with 109 votes beat incumbent Tim C. Taylor, who got 106 votes.

Ward 6

Monica Johnson Gilkey got 117 votes to beat Cleotha Williams, who got 63 votes.

Ward 7

Incumbent Lafayette E. Wales got 175 votes to beat challenger Dante’ L. Ollie, who got 44 votes.

Registration, absentee deadlines

The last day to register for the June 8 general election is May 10.

The deadline for in-person absentee voting is noon June 5 and absentee ballots returned by mail must be postmarked on or before Election Day and received by the municipal clerk’s office within five business days.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions